I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Assistance to Firefighters Grant

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department Of Homeland Security
CFDA #: 97.044

Who is eligible to apply...

Eligible applicants for this grant program are limited to fire departments located in the fifty United States, tribal nations, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. A fire department is defined as an agency or organization that has a formally recognized arrangement with a State or local authority (city, county, parish, fire district, township, town, or other governing body) to provide fire suppression, fire prevention and rescue services within a fixed geographical area. An emergency medical services unit can apply for assistance provided the unit falls organizationally under the auspices of a fire department as defined above. Also, States, Tribal Nations, U.S. Territories, and national, local, or community organizations, that currently have a fire prevention or fire safety program or activity focused on the prevention of injuries to children from fire, are eligible for funding under this grant program to expand or enhance their existing fire prevention or fire safety program. Fire departments, which are Federal or contracted by the Federal government and whose sole responsibility is suppression of fires on Federal installations, are not eligible for funding under this grant program. Also not eligible for this program are Ambulance Services, Rescue Squads, Auxiliaries, Dive Teams, Urban, Search and Rescue Teams, Fire Service Organizations and Associations, and State/local agencies such as Forest Service, Fire Marshals, Hospitals, and Training Facilities. Tribal fire departments are not eligible to apply for functions, activities, or materials under this program that are funded by other Federal agencies.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Each applicant must certify: 1) that they are an eligible applicant, i.e., a fire department, as defined above; 2) as to the characteristics of their community, i.e., Urban, Suburban, or Rural; 3) to the population size of the community served; and, 4) to the type of department, i.e., volunteer/combination or career.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.